NTA Announces Holland Award

The 2018 recipient of the Daniel M. Holland Medal is Michael Keen of the IMF. From their announcement:

The National Tax Association is pleased to announce the 2018 award winner, Michael Keen, International Monetary Fund.

Michael “Mick” Keen, Deputy Director of the Fiscal Affairs Department at the International Monetary Fund, has made fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of public finance, advancing our understanding of complex issues in a clear and insightful manner. His work combines impeccable academic rigor with deep policy relevance.

Mick’s work spans a wide range of important topics in public finance, notably including tax competition and tax coordination, the value-added tax, tax issues in developing countries, the tax treatment of the financial sector, environmental tax policy, corporate income taxation, fiscal federalism, and the interplay between tax and trade policy. His work has been published in leading economic journals; he has also written and edited several books, including The Modern VAT; the Taxation of Petroleum and Minerals; and Digital Revolutions in Public Finance. His work has pushed forward the frontier of both theoretical and empirical research in public finance.

Before joining the IMF, he was Professor of Economics at the University of Essex. Mick was awarded the CESifo-IIPF Musgrave prize in 2010, and is Honorary President of the International Institute of Public Finance. He has served on the Board of the National Tax Association, and on the editorial boards of several journals, including International Tax and Public Finance, of which he was joint founder.

Mick’s work will be celebrated and he will receive the award in November at NTA’s 111th Annual Conference on Taxation in New Orleans.

The Daniel M. Holland Medal was created in 1993 in memory of Dan Holland, a Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management. He wrote several books and numerous articles on a wide range of topics in taxation and served as a consultant to the U.S. Department of the Treasury, foreign governments, and private companies. Dan was a leading figure in the NTA for many years, serving as president in 1988–1989 and as editor of the National Tax Journal for 25 years from 1966–1991. The Holland Medal is the most prestigious award given by the NTA, as it recognizes lifetime achievement in the study of the theory and practice of public finance. A committee of NTA members constituted by the Board of Directors makes a formal nomination of the award recipient each year for approval by the Board, and the medal is awarded at the Annual Conference on Taxation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s